GOD IS WORKING ALL FOR OUR ULTIMATE GOOD

Kathy Larkman

Kathy Larkman, contributor for today’s blog post

I consider myself to be a late bloomer in my journey with the Lord. I floundered for many difficult, disobedient years. I didn’t really get the gospel and I became numb and swept away by false teaching and the ways of our society. Thankfully, over the years, the Lord has been sifting, purifying and healing my heart and mind. I have had to unlearn some unhelpful unbiblical theology and unhelpful thought patterns; to replace them with God’s word and Godly resources and people in my life. I am growing to love God’s Word. I have realized that when I am applying God’s word to my life,  I am walking in full obedience. Over time, I am seeing that my obedience to God is bringing me freedom and joy! There is a greater pleasure in full surrender to Christ.
A scripture that has come to mean a lot to me and has given me comfort and hope in my messiness is Romans 8:28:
“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”NLT

It is a promise I have clung to through the good, the bad, and the ugly; much of it brought on by my own disobedience, confusion, my rebellion.

But there are certainly still some days that I am wobbly. So every day I have the opportunity to test this anchor of my soul, especially when I think about the unknown of the future, my family, my church family, when difficult circumstances come my way.

Notice that Paul says “all things work together for good. “Not, all things are good. Because I am a follower of Christ doesn’t make me immune from awful things happening or experiencing painful heartache. It does mean that in God’s economy nothing is wasted; that I can’t escape his perfect purposes for me as his redeemed child. Of course we have seen the ultimate example of working all for good, in the death of our Lord Jesus.

God is teaching me that He is always good! The past few months have had some painful wobbles. May I ask you? Have you had some challenging times too? I want to encourage us that this is God’s word to us about this past year. “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” And it will be true in 2019- and 2020-and 2021! Every day and in every way, God is working things out for our ultimate good. And God in his mercy doesn’t have us stop at verse 28. Verse 29 supports and gives the reason for verse 28: “For God knew his people in advance and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. “Rom 8:29 NLT

transformedThis is the good to which all things in our lives as his children are working; that we become like Jesus! Our hearts will slowly realize God’s thinking, ways, and purposes are so far above and beyond our natural understanding. OUR view of what good is, is so far from God’s.

You see, these verses teach us that God knows what is ultimately best for us than we do; to trust God, His heart and character IN His word. I of course have my L plates on all the way to heaven. But I am thankful to God He will not let me go! If you are His child, Christ will not let you go either! I encourage you to take hold of this as well. “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. For God knew his people in advance and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.” Rom 8:28-29

They are God’s word to us. God’s will for us is not to be necessarily healthy, wealthy, and wise; but God is working all things so that we will become more and more like His Son. There is nothing better. Let’s encourage one another to hold on to these promises, to cooperate with the Spirit as we grow to become more like our Lord Jesus Christ.

One thought on “GOD IS WORKING ALL FOR OUR ULTIMATE GOOD

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.